INTERVIEW WITH WHIPSTRIKER, KILLER METAL PUNK BAND FROM BRAZIL!!!!!!

                    (by Roxana Vivanco)

TERMINAL WORLD is extremely pleased to present Victor and his new band WHIPSTRIKER from Brazil. I personally like the fact that this Metal/Punk/Hardcore/Crust act mixes every recording in its own way bringing something new and exciting each time.  Here Victor talks about his bands, the Underground scene and recommends  LOTS of bands from Brazil to listen to… check it out!!!!

 

TW: Hails Victor! How busy are you now in Brazil?

Victor: First I would like to say THANX for this interview. I always support underground stuffs and attitudes. Well I´m always busy here because I play in 3 bands and work. But I have time to answer the interviews too. AHAH! But it´s ok. I do what I want. I like to practice, record and play live with the bands all the time. It´s not a problem for me.

TW: Please tell us how old are you and some of your background as musician within Sao Paulo Underground Scene.

Victor: Now I have 26 years old. I started to hear Metal and Punk stuff in 1995 when I had 10 years. I was a child but my cousin Flavio showed me some stuffs like METALLICA, IRON MAIDEN, MOTORHEAD and MISFITS. Then I said: “Yeah, I like it”. In 1998 we formed our first band FARSCAPE, that plays In vein of KREATOR, SLAYER and SACRIFICE. We were really young that time. Our drummer had 11 years old. We´re still active with the same line up since 1998. I play in other bands too. In 2001 we formed DIABOLIC FORCE that is over now. It´s a Black Metal band that plays in vein of CELTIC FROST, VENOM, HELLHAMMER etc. In 2004 we formed Atomic Roar (still active) to play this mixing of Metal and Punk, so the main influences is WARFARE, DISCHARGE, VENOM etc. But since 2001 I have made some songs to WHIPSTRIKER. In the beginning it was a simple project. I would like to record some songs, just to release and not to play live. So in 2009 I decide to record them. I had around 20 songs ready that time. Then I record the first album “Crude Rock n Roll” and the first 7´´EP Split. From 2009 till now I recorded other stuffs too: 2 demos and more 3 Splits (7´´EP). I started to promote some gigs in my city too. But look, I don´t live in São Paulo, but in Rio de Janeiro. It´s around 6 hours from São Paulo. And finally here I am answering these questions.

TW: Victor, what was your initial purpose to create WHIPSTRIKER?

Victor: As I said before, my plans were just record some stuffs to release. The purpose was to be a studio band. But since I recorded the first stuff I decided to start to play live too. Then we have playing many gigs. We played two tours, in Europe (2011) and Brazil (2012).

Victor Whipstriker

 

TW: WHIPSTRIKER sound is influenced by bands such as MOTÖRHEAD, DISCHARGE, WARFARE, TANK, GBH, HELLHAMMER. Have you always liked Metal and Hardcore Punk?

Victor: Yes. I always like this kind of music. But I like another stuffs from 70´S Rock n Roll too. I love bands like THIN LIZZY, UFO, WISHBONE ASH, CAPTAIN BEYOND, CREEDENCE etc. In the first album you can hear some THIN LIZZY influences all the time. I try to mix it with Metal, Crust and Punk stuffs. That´s the idea. I mix all the stuffs I like.

TW: Actually, here in Peru Hardcore and Metal scene are separate and there is still a little dispute between then. How are these scenes in Brazil, united or separate?

Victor: Here is the same. But in the things are changing. Some gigs are mixing Punk and Metal bands. I think the CRUST style is the better way to mix these two styles. In the gigs that I promote I always mix Metal and Punk bands. In São Paulo you can watch some gigs in the same way. Indeed it´s a historical problem, right?  Punks and Headbangers play in different gigs. Some punks think that all the headbangers are fascists, and of course it´s not true. Some headbangers think the punks are ass-holes, political vegan ass-holes, and of course it´s not true too. I really think the things are changing nowadays. I like Metal and Punk’s stuffs. So I go all the gigs. We can make a better scene together. Without Nazis, of course.

TW: Your first three releases, “Crude Rock N’ Roll” (LP), “Metal Punk’s Not Dead” (split) and “Midnight Crust” (EP) is like they announce their main music sound on their own titles. What is your favorite?

Victor: I don´t have favorite stuffs. Each stuff has a different feeling for me. If you check them, you can hear different styles. The album is more Rock n Roll, the split is Metalpunk and the EP is Crust as fuck. That´s the idea you know. No favorite, if I don´t like a stuff I´ll not release it.

WHIPSTRIKER live!

 

TW: In more recent releases as “A Porta, A Guerra Civil” (2011 demo tape) your lyrics talk about civil war in your country. How is this problem affecting people in Brazil and what do you stand for?

Victor: This civil war is a big problem here. Now the State is controlling the tourist areas because they have economical interesting. You know, the world cup will happen here in 2014. But the problem will never end. Is a big war: Drug Dealers versus State. But it´s ridiculous because the state in completely corrupt. The police give weapons and drugs to the dealers. If the dealers don’t walk on line, the police get back the weapons and drugs and sell it to other dealers. I mean the war will never end because the police and the dealers are almost the same people. In the middle of this war, many people are dying all the time. There are many dangerous areas here. It´s impossible to explain all the situation in a interview, you have to come here to check it. So I´m talking about this war in my lyrics.

TW: Despite being a new band, WHIPSTRIKER has toured Europe in early 2011, an accomplishment just a few South American bands can be proud of. Which coutries/cities did you assault and how this tour was even possible in the first place?

Victor: Yeah We played 26 dates in Europe In February, 2011. Was a very very cool experience for us. We played in many cities in 10 different countries: Germany, Italy, Switzeland, France, Czech Republic, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Austria and Belgiun. About tour organizing… We contacted AGIPUNK RECS from Italy. They can organize all the tour for the bands. They book all the shows and you rent their van and equipments. In each gig you receive money, food and a good place to sleep. We played in many punk squats. These places are really good to play, drink and sleep. If you have a band and want to play in Europe contact AGIPUNK, they are great and make a very good work. I hope to back soon.

TW: Tell us more about the European tour, what bands did you play with? What was your favorite audience? Is there any drunken party anecdote you specially remember?

Victor: We traveled in three bands: WHIPSTRIKER, ATOMIC ROAR and IRON FIST (USA). So basically there were these bands playing. We played beside good bands like TERRORAZOR, a crust-noize band of DANIEL AVENGER who plays in NOCTURNAL, FRONT BEAST and other killer bands. In Belgium we played along DOWN OF CRUCIFIXION, a very good Black Metal band too. In the last show we shared the stage with BLIZZARD in Germany, very very drunkers-alcoholic-metalpunks. In Vienna –Austria we played along the crazy metalpunks of EWIG FROST. I think the best show was in Bologna –Italy. The crows is really insane there! This night we knew the guys of CHILDREN OF TECHNOLOGY and we drunk a lot together. I liked too much. I liked the gig in Berlin–Germany too. For me was a kind of special moment because we were playing the the famous punk squat Köpi. Everybody who is into punk scene knows about this traditional squat.  A dunken anecdote? I think there are many of them, but I can´t remember because I was drunk, ahaha! Anyway, the tour was fucking great. The DO IT YOURSELF Metalpunk scene is very organized there. The Punk Squats are really cool places where the people can watch gigs, drink cheap beers, eat good vegetarian food, worm rooms etc. We had a lot of good moments there. The tour was great.

WHIPSTRIKER playing in Praga, Czech Republic, during European Tour 2011

 

TW: This interview is manly about WHISPTRIKER, but what about FARSCAPE? It’s been a while since you release something new…

Victor: Yes, FARSCAPE never stops. We kept making gigs. But you know, all of us play in many bands: ATOMIC ROAR, WHIPSTRIKER, DIABOLIC FORCE, HELLKOMMANDER, SODOMIZER, APOKALYPTIC RAIDS etc. So we work hard to record and play live gigs with all of these bands. We recorded the second FARSCAPE´s album in 2006. In the middle of this time (2006-2012) we recorded many stuffs with our other bands. But we´ll record the new FARSCAPE´s album this year. We have all the songs ready to record. The album will be out in October and will be released by BESTIAL INVASION RECORDS from Scotland in CD and LP versions. Just wait that.

TW: I know you have supported TOXIC HOLOCAUST on their “Hell on Earth” tour back in 2006. How was your experience on these gigs? Was Joel Grind as you expected to be? Are you still friends?

Victor: Yes I played bass for TOXIC HOLOCAUST on Brazilian Tour. We released a official DVD where you can see one show that we played in São Paulo. For me was very great because I´m a fan of TOXIC HOLOCAUST. So when Joel invited me to play I accept in the same moment. I have contact with JOEL since 2001 when he sent me some demos. But now he´s very busy. I think he plays tours all the time. So we don’t talk too much nowadays. I´m happy cause TOXIC HOLOCAUST is a big band now. JOEL works very hard since the beginning. It´s a great band.

TW: You also support APOKALYPTIC RAIDS on tour, how is Leon Manssur to work with? I’ve heard he’s got a hellish record collection!

Victor: I played bass for APOKALYPTIC RAIDS in the Brazilian Tour 2008. Indeed the tour was FARSCAPE and APOKALYPTIC RAIDS together. We played 14 gigs together. For me was great because I like too much their songs. We are very good friends since 2000. LEON produced many stuffs to my bands FARSCAPE, ATOMIC ROAR and DIABOLIC FORCE. And yeah, LEON is kind of LP maniac. He has a lot of Lps. If you come to Brazil we can visit him and drink some beers there while we hear the albums. (I have to go to Brazil, damn it!!!!! – Ed.). He´s my neighbor.

Victor WHIPSTRIKER + Leon Necromaniac from APOKALYPTIC RAIDS

 

TW: You are actually pretty active and also play in Thrash Metal act ATOMIC ROAR. How do you manage your time for rehearse, compose and play for all your bands?

Victor: ATOMIC ROAR is a kind of studio-band. We played the European tour in 2011, but we don´t play live often. When we want to record a stuff we make some rehearsals, compose the songs and go to studio. So it´s not a problem for me.

TW: We all praise Brazil for being the most (beer) drinking source of South American Underground. Which bands are your all-time favorites and which new ones would you personally recommend?

Victor: Brazil has many good bands. The old bands I like SEPULTURA, SARCÓFAGO, MUTILATOR, RATOS DE PORÃO, ARMAGEDOM, LOBOTOMIA, DORSAL ATLÂNTICA, ANTHARES, TAURUS, VULCANO, CHAKAL etc. The new bands I like NUCLEAR FROST, VIOLATOR, DEFY, SOCIAL CHAOS, APOKALYPTIC RAIDS, UNFIT SCUM, CORPO SEM ÓRGÃOS, CARRASCO, GRAVE DESECRATOR, BLASFEMADOR, FLAGELADOR, BEAST CONJURATOR, PESTICIDE, POWER FROM HELL, THRASHERA, D-ECREASING LIFE, ROT, WARKOHOLIK, BRAIN DEATH, BY WAR, BLASTHRASH, DESASTRE, DEATH FROM ABOVE, BESTHOVEN, TERROR REVOLUCIONÁRIO, SUBTERROR, RANCOR, ATOS DE VINGANÇA, WARDEATH, BANDANOS, HOMELESS, LEI DO CÃO, CATARRO, EM RUÍNAS, BEYOND THE GRAVE, DEATH RAISER, BADHUM, ANOPSY, IMPERADOR BELIAL, NEBULIZER, INFERNO NA TERRA, ESCARNIUM, PROJJETO MACABRO, DELUGE MASTER, LEPROSE, STENCH OF DEATH, DESISTA, JACKHAMMER, DER, TEST, COLD BLOOD, ATAQUE VIOLENTO, INFECTED, NIGHTMARE, BLACK COFFINS, INFAMOUS GLORY and much more.

TW: What do you know about Peruvian underground scene? Tell us your favorite bands from here please.

Victor: I know some bands like MORTEM, BLACK ANGEL, HANDS OF DOOM, TORMENT, POISONDEATH, HELL TORMENT, OPRESOR, GRAVE DESECRATION. I think only these bands I know. Some months ago a very good Punk band “LOS REZIOS” invited me to release a split together. They´re very great and I really like the sound. They play in vein of DISCHARGE and ANTICIMEX. I need more Peruvian Punk bands in my collection too. You can show me the bands you like.

TW: What are the next things to come for WHISPTRIKER? Is it possible to do a South American tour soon? What are your requirements to do so?

Victor: The plans is always the same. To record new stuffs (albums, splits etc) and keep playing live gigs. Of course I really would like to play a South American tour. But I don’t have money to make it now. If some promoter wants to invite us to play some gigs, we can go if him can affort the flying tickets. I want to play in Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Chile, Argentina, Paraguai, Uruguai etc. But I really don’t have money to play a tour now. We ask the tickets, beers and some vegetarian food. If some promoter wants to invite us, we can go right now!

Metal Punk Bass

 

TW: Muito obrigada pela entrevista Victor. Please your last words and anything you want to add!

Victor: I like to say Thanx for the interview. Keep this “do-it-yourself” work alive! The scene needs zines, blogs, sites etc. It´s very important to keep the scene alive. Metalpunks from Peru, feel free to write mails and keep on touch. Send me new songs, show me new bands, etc. I´m a underground junkie (addicted to underground). I live for this. Thanx!

Mail: whipstriker@yahoo.com.br

Facebook, go and like: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Whipstriker/168378886539292

Reverb Nation to hear the songs: www.reverbnation.com/whipstriker

Youtube Videos: www.youtube.com/whipstriker

 

 

Responder

